Publication citations


Lifetime Achievement Awards


Research Publications




Best Paper Awards


Research Excellence Awards


Research Grants


Revenue Gains for Businesses 

Top 1% Cited Research Scholar

Web of Science

Inaugural Scholar

Analytics Hall of Fame


American Marketing Association & Hagler Institute, TAMU

Marketing Legend

Sage Legend Series

Research Productive Scholar


Dr. Kumar is currently listed in Who’s Who Worldwide, for his leadership and achievement in the field of Marketing, and Who’s Who Among Global Business Leaders for his thought-leadership and quality work. He received the 2011 Outstanding Researcher Award at Georgia State University, the 2002-2003 Best Paper Award as well as the 2003 Research Excellence Award at the School of Business, University of Connecticut. He was also awarded the 1999 and 1997 Melcher Award for Faculty Excellence in Research, the 1994 College of Business Alumni Association Distinguished Faculty Award, the Kent Electronics Computer Research Excellence Award (1990-91) and the Melcher Faculty Research Excellence Award (1989, 1998 and 2000) at the University of Houston…  

| Read More… 


  • Selected as a “Marketing Legend” and is featured in the “Legends in Marketing” series, Jagdish Sheth (editor) as one of the 8 Legends along with Phil Kotler, Paul Green, Jerry Zaltman, Jagdish Sheth, and Jerry Wind
  • Held several Distinguished Faculty positions for 30 years in the U.S. at University of Houston, University of Connecticut, and Georgia State University
  • 2019 AMA Higher Education SIG’s Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Inducted into the inaugural Analytics Hall of Fame, 2019
  • Created Business Impact through Implementation of over 2 billion dollars in incremental revenue through implementation of marketing science models/methods
  • Ranked as one of the top scholars in the marketing field for publications in the top 4 premier marketing journals by the American Marketing Association
  • Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Marketing, April 1, 2014 – June 30, 2018 

|Read more


  • Inducted into the inaugural Analytics Hall of Fame, 2019
  • Inducted as the Fellow of the American Marketing Association, 2017.
  • 2017 Eminent Scholar Award by the Hagler Institute for Advanced Study at Texas A & M University.
  • 2016 Routledge – Taylor & Francis/SMA Distinguished Scholar Award
  • 2015 AMS/CUTCO-Vector Marketing -Distinguished Marketing Educator Award
  • Lee Kong Chian Fellow (2015-16) at Singapore Management University, Singapore
  • 2014 iSIG Fellow Award
  • 2013 Chang Jiang Scholar Award
  • 2013 Regents’ Professor
  • Winner, 2012 Paul D. Converse Award for achievements and contributions to the Customer Lifetime


|Read more